Wasilla, AK

Class standing/years in college:


A bit about me:

I'm an Alaskan born and raised. I grew up in the Matanuska-Susitna valley, on a small farm with horses, aplacas, chickens, dogs, cats, rabbits and a duck. Horses are my true passion though. I've been riding for 12 years now. I love to have a great time. I try to take on each new day and challenge with a smile.

Why did you choose to attend UAF?

After getting a campus tour and meeting a few people, I quickly realized UAF was where I needed to be. The people on this campus and in the community are generally really friendly. UAF also supports a very active group of people, and I love that!

What do you like best about UAF?

The people (students, faculty, staff) are always nice and willing to help with a smile on their face. Also UAF and the Fairbanks Community are very active. It's great!

What do you like to do in your spare time? What extracurricular activities are you a part of?

I love to be outside! During the summer, I ride my horse as much as  possible. I also love to go hiking with my favorite hiking dog, Roxie. In the winter months I cross-country ski when its not too cold, and love
to snowboard. I also have a passion for photography, especially wildlife and the Aurora. It's not uncommon for me to go out on a school night and try to capture the Aurora.

What is one piece of advice you would give to a prospective student interested in UAF?

Learn how you study best! It will pay off when you get to college. Also, make some connections when you get to school. It makes school way more fun! Join a club, go to comedy nights, have fun!

What "field work" have you done at UAF that will help you find work in your major?

I haven't done any field work for UAF yet. But I have plans to start looking into it.

What do you hope to do after you graduate?

I would love to work for an agency like Fish and Game. I want to do something that either involves animals or working in an outreach setting.

If you could live anywhere else in the world, where would it be?

Somewhere in Europe or... Australia.

Back to Top