Board of directors

Roles and responsibilities

  • Support UAFAA's mission
  • Implement UAFAA's programs and services and monitor their effectiveness
  • Provide strategic guidance to UAFAA
  • Ensure UAFAA's financial health
  • Support UAFAA's executive director
  • Improve UAFAA's board effectiveness

Interested in running for a seat on the board? Here's what's involved.

 

2016 - 2017 UAF Alumni Association Board of Directors


Board officers

Peter Van Flein

Peter Van Flein, ’87

Board President
Seat 5, FNSB
2015 - 2018
pvanflein@gmail.com

1987 - BBA, Business Administration
Independent financial advisor

Gail Dabaluz

Gail Dabaluz, ’10

Board Vice President
Seat 7, Southeast
2017 - 2018
gaildabaluz@yahoo.com

2010 - MA, Alaska Native Studies and Rural Development
Program coordinator, Southeast Alaska Independent Living

Barbara Fujimoto

Barbara Fujimoto, ’13

Board Secretary
Seat 8, At-Large
2016 - 2019
barbara.fujimoto@
goldbelt.com

2013 - MA Rural Development
Director of Small Business Government Contracting Compliance, Goldbelt Inc., Juneau

Amanda Wall

Amanda Wall, ’01 ’05

Board Treasurer
Seat 6, At Large
2016 - 2018
aiwall@alaska.edu

2001 - BA Journalism
2005 - MA Professional Communications
Director, Office of the Bursar, UAF


Board members

Shannon Johnson-NanalookShannon Johnson-Nanalook, ’11

Seat 1, Rural
2017-2020
sejohnson24@yahoo.com

2011 - BA Social Work
Program Coordinator, Nilavena Subregional Clinic, Iliamna

Mary Beth Loewen

Mary Beth Loewen, ’02, ’07

Seat 2, Southcentral,
2017 - 2020
marybethloewen@gmail.com

2002 - BS, Natural Sciences
2007 - MA, Fisheries
Fisheries biologist, Alaska Department of Fish and Game

Forrest Kuiper

Forrest Kuiper, ’99, ’00, ’12

Seat 3, Fairbanks
2017 - 2020
forrest.kuiper@alaska.edu

1999 - AAS, Municipal Fire Control
2000 - AAS, Hazardous Material Control
2012 - BEM, Emergency Management
Fire Captain, UAF Fire Department

Shannon McCarthy

Shannon McCarthy, ’88

Seat 4, Southcentral
2015 - 2018
shannonmccarthy49@
gmail.com

1988 - BA, Political Science
Public Information Officer, State of Alaska Central Region of the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities

Cindy Wright

Cindy Wright, ’88

Seat 9, Fairbanks
2016 - 2019
cindy@playwrightalaska.com

1988 - Bachelor's in Education

Libby Eddy

Libby Eddy, ’92

Seat 10, Outside (Lower 48)
2016 - 2019
ofeddy@alaska.edu

1992 - Associate of Arts
Retired/Former Registrar and Director of Admissions, UAF

Rachel Lauesen

Rachel Lauesen, ’04

Seat 11, Municipality of Anchorage 
2017 - 2019
rblaloha@gmail.com

2004 - BA, History
Attorney, Crowson Law Group, Anchorage

 


Ex-Officio Board members

Jason Gootee

Jason Gootee, ’05

Portland Alumni Contact
 
jason.gootee@modahealth.com

2005 - BA, English

Shannon McCarthy

Shannon McCarthy, ’88

Southcentral Chapter President
2015 - 2018
shannonmccarthy49@
gmail.com

1988 - BA, Political Science

Brenda Riley

Brenda Riley, ’02

Fairbanks Chapter President
brendariley81@gmail.com

2002 - BA Anthropology
Director, Fairbanks Children's Museum

Doug Schrage

Doug Schrage ’85

Student Firefighter Chapter President
drschrage@alaska.edu

1985 - Fire Science

Scott Roselius

Scott Roselius, ’81

Hockey Chapter President
scott@tvtv.com

1981 - BA, Physical Education

Jeremy Vermilyea

Jeremy Vermilyea , ’92

Seattle Alumni Contact
jeremy@vermilyealaw.com

1992 - BA, Journalism

Kate Ripley, ’11

Executive Director, UAFAA
klripley@alaska.edu

2011 - Master of Arts, Northern Studies

 

 

 

Back to Top