About the UAFAA scholarships

Each year, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Alumni Association recognizes current UAF students and supports the university through awarding various scholarships. Children, and in some cases other relatives, of current alumni association members are eligible for this support. Recipients of the UAFAA scholarships are selected by the volunteer alumni scholarship committee; recipients of the Fairbanks chapter scholarships are selected by the officers of the chapter. Recipients of these scholarships are recognized at the annual scholarship awards banquet in the spring, as well as during our reunion.


Congratulations to this year's scholarship winners.

  • The UAF Alumni Association Scholarship
    Undergraduate sophomores, juniors and seniors who are children of an active alumni association member are eligible. Scholarship recipients will demonstrate likelihood for alumni involvement after they graduate, have a GPA in the 2.5-3.5 range and display volunteerism efforts. Past awardees are encouraged to reapply.
    2016-2017 recipient: Holly Taylor

  • The Audrey Loftus Memorial Scholarship
    Audrey Loftus, founding director of the UAFAA, was a determined university advocate and community supporter. In her honor, this scholarship is awarded to new first-year or transfer students who demonstrate experience in and future commitment to extracurricular or community involvement. Leadership skills and potential will be considered along with the applicant's commitment to UAF and/or Alaska. Applicants must have a 3.0 GPA or above.
    2016-2017 recipient: Nathaniel Nick Savel

  • The Jim Doogan Memorial Scholarship
    Jim Doogan, a pioneer Alaskan who helped draft the Alaska Constitution, was an enthusiastic supporter of UAF. He built the alumni hamburger booth at the Tanana Valley State Fair and was an active member of the UAF Alumni Association. He was a member of the UAFAA Board of Directors when he died in 1997. He was given a Meritorious Service Award posthumously at the 1997 commencement ceremony. Eligibility: sophomore or above.
    2016-2017 recipient: Katie Roseberry

  • The Jay Hammond Memorial Scholarship
    Jay Hammond, a 1949 graduate of UA and former two-term governor, was recognized as an Alaska statesman. Because of his many accomplishments, the Fairbanks chapter of the UAF Alumni Association and the UAFAA Board of Directors created this joint scholarship to honor students who exhibit leadership and a desire to make a difference in Alaska.
    2016-2017 recipient: Ryan DeCorso

  • The Fairbanks Chapter Legacy Scholarship
    The Fairbanks Chapter of the UAFAA used proceeds from its annual hamburger booth at the Tanana Valley State Fair to establish this scholarship to benefit UAF students with a 3.5 GPA or above who are relatives of active, dues-paying members. Eligibility: sophomore or above.
    2016-2017 recipient: Juanita Esmailka

The UAF Financial Aid Office offers a variety of financial assistance options.

Back to Top