Summer Tours are Here

Starting June 3, 1998 ARSC will hold a summer tour for the public at 2:00 every Wednesday except for June 17th.

Tours are open to the public; there is no fee for this one-hour presentation. Presenters are LJ Evans-Information Officer, Derek Bastille-User Services, Tom Baring-User Services, Gary Hagestead Administrative Services Director and Janene Sikkink-Coordinator.

Information includes

Welcome to ARSC Introduction and overview (8-10 minutes) in Butrovich 109 - material includes: discussing who we are, our relationship to the University, what we do, who we do it for (users/benefits). Supercomputers and visualization Technical talk (20-30 minutes) in Butrovich 109 - material includes: covering concept of supercomputers to solve and visualizae large problems, use of audiovisual equipment to display visualizations and discuss them, questions and answers. Kiosk/Machine room viewing area Machine specifics - material includes: viewing the supercomputers, discussing the hardware capabilities and the difference between vector and parallel supercomputers, showing the kiosk, describing the research and engineering problems (including visualizations) that the systems are used to solve.

Tour dates

June 3	Wednesday 2:00 June 10 	Wednesday 2:00 June 17	No Tour (UA Board of Regents' Meeting) June 24	Wednesday 2:00  July 1    Wednesday 2:00 July 8    Wednesday 2:00 July 15   Wednesday 2:00 July 22   Wednesday 2:00 July 29   Wednesday 2:00  August 5  Wednesday 2:00 August 12 Wednesday 2:00 August 19 Wednesday 2:00 August 26 Wednesday 2:00

Back to Top