UAF Chancellor's Search

The University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) announces a search for a new chancellor. The chancellor serves as the university's chief executive officer and is appointed by and reports to the University of Alaska (UA) system president. The new chancellor will be expected to assume office by July 2017 or as soon thereafter as feasible.

The University of Alaska Fairbanks is the flagship university of the statewide University of Alaska system. It is a Land, Sea and Space Grant university and an international center for research, education and the arts, emphasizing the circumpolar North and its diverse peoples.

UAF integrates teaching, research and public service as it educates students for active citizenship and prepares them for lifelong learning and careers. It is expected that the new chancellor will have successful experience as a leader of high moral character, with special emphasis on experience in Alaska, fostering partnerships within UAF, across the UA system, and with the communities that UAF serves in Alaska as well as nationally and internationally. The successful candidate will be a dynamic and innovative leader with the ability and experience to grow the world’s leading arctic research university. The chancellor has been delegated broad authority by the president over UAF's administration.

Size:á2.0Mábytes Modified: 4 January 2017, 09:13

Applications and nominations

Applications should consist of a substantive cover letter, a curriculum vitae or resume, and at least five professional references with full contact information; references will not be contacted without the candidate's explicit permission. For full consideration, applications, nominations, and expressions of interest should be submitted in confidence to on or before March 1, 2017.

For a confidential discussion, please contact Keli Hite-McGee, University of Alaska Chief Human Resources Officer, at or 907-450-8215.



Dec. 7, 2016: University of Alaska will start search for permanent UAF chancellor


Virtual tour

Launch Virtual Tour

Facts and figures

Search committee

Geri Simon
Search Committee Chair
Community Member  Doyon Limited
Nate Bauer ’14 Staff Council President and Publications Manager International Arctic Research Center
Donie Bret-Harte Associate Professor Institute of Arctic Biology
Steve Brown Cooperative Extension Agent (Palmer) School of Natural Resources and Extension
Retchenda George-Bettisworth ’00 Associate Professor of Social Work and Department Chair College of Liberal Arts
Mike Earnest ’90, ’94 Registrar and Director of Enrollment Services  
Jason Gootee ’05 Community Member and UAF Alumni Association President Moda Health
Mark Herrmann Dean School of Management
Larry Hinzman ’90 Vice Chancellor for Research  
Jennifer Imus ’03 Community Member Wells Fargo Bank
Tom Marsik ’07 Assistant Professor of Sustainable Energy Bristol Bay Campus
Debu Misra Faculty Senate Past President and Professor of Geological Engineering  
Samuel Mitchell Student Representative  
Mary Pete ’79, ’84 Director Kuskokwim Campus
Gail Phillips ’67 Community Member  
Back to Top