College of Natural Science & Mathematics

Chapman Chair Lectures


The Sydney Chapman Endowed Chair in Physical Sciences was created by the Alaska State Legislature in 1983. The purpose was to establish a distinguished position that would help the University of Alaska Fairbanks achieve an international reputation for excellence in teaching and research. The legislature recognized that the distinguished scientists who occupy this chair will attract a nucleus of talented faculty and students and thereby enhance the quality of the teaching and research at UAF. 

Dr. Sydney Chapman (1888-1970), for whom the endowed chair is named, is considered one of the most distinguished geophysicists of the 20th century. He was professor of geophysics and advisory scientific director of UAF's Geophysical Institute from 1951-70. Since its inception, five distinguished scholars have held the title "Chapman Chair". Presently, two distinguished scholars serve as co-chairs: Dr. Eddy Carmack and Dr. David Scholl. Both host a variety of lectures that often include other distinguished scholar at UAF throughout the academic year.

2014 Chapman Seminar Series

New Offshore Alaska Geophysical and Drilling Expeditions: results, discoveries, and implications

Wednesdays, 3:30 to 5:10 in Elvey Auditorium 214
Fridays, 3:30 to 5:10 in Reichardt Room 201

Donna Shillington

» Wed. February 19: Downdip and along-strike changes in megathrust properties

» Fri. February 21: Controls on abrupt changes in subduction zone faulting, hydration and seismicity

Bernie Coakley

» Wed. February 26: The Chukchi Borderland: grit in the gears of simple tectonic models for the Amerasian Basin

» Fri. February 28: Amerasia Basin: a new synthesis of the Mesozoic history of the Arctic Ocean

John Jaeger

» Wed. March 5: Orogenesis in an icy world; tectonics and climate

» Fri. March 7: How to build a continental margin in the neogene: ice, floods and hot times

Ginger Barth

» Wed. March 12: Teasing out the history of the Aluetian Basin

» Fri. March 14: Defining new Bering Sea seabed territory provides opportunity to make huge scientific advances


This series is hosted by Champan Chair David Scholl.

Present and Past Chapman Chairs


Eddy Carmack and David Scholl, 2006-present


Syun-Ichi Akasofu, 1985-1986

Keith Runcorn (deceased), 1989-1995

Norbert Untersteiner (deceased), 1998-2005