DRAW Professional Staff

Ice Arena Manager

Leo Faro

Leo is the newest member of the team, joining in late April 2015. Leo comes with great experience from Polar Ice Arena in North Pole. He is passionate about ice quality and creating a great experience for all users. When not in the arena, he is planning his next hunting trip or cheering his sons on at various sporting events around Alaska. He has also been known to where stripes and whistle at local hockey tournaments.

lfaro@alaska.edu

907-474-7744

Assistant Director of Wellness

Kaydee Miller

Kaydee is responsible for the programming of the SRC; Intramurals, Personal Training, Group Fitness, Youth Day Camps as well as anything involving wellness programs for students.

kmiller20@alaska.edu

907-474-6806

Director

Mark Oldmixon

Mark is responsible for supervision of the entire department; SRC, Outdoor Adventures, Patty Pool, Patty Ice and Outdoor Ed Center.

mtoldmixon@alaska.edu

907-474-5886

Coordinator of Outdoor Adventures

Frank Olive

Frank is the manager of the Outdoor Adventures program. This includes the student triping program, rental equipment fleet, the acedemic classes and the climbing facilities on campus.  He has a wealth of information to relay to users and works hard to make sure each customer gets what they need.

folive@alaska.edu

907-474-6027

Business Manager

Valerie Rickards

Valerie is responsible for the financial accounts within the department, human resource logistics, SRC Front Desk and memberships. She does a lot more, but the web-site is too small.

valerie.rickards@alaska.edu

907-474-6814

Ice Arena Supervisors

The Ice Arena Supervisors are in charge of general day to day operations at the Patty Ice Arena. This includes monitoring all the public skating session; checking out locker rooms and answering questions for all the various hockey organizations during games, practices, and private rentals; sharpening skates; and driving the Zamboni to maintain the best ice in town.

Teresa Shannon

Teresa is in charge of the Learn to Skate Program, as well as other various graphic design tasks.

Graduate Assistants

Dan Vernon

dtvernon@alaska.edu

Back to Top