Shih-Wei Huang

Born in 1988 in Taipei, Shih-Wei Huang completed her bachelor’s degree at the Curtis Institute and her master’s degree at Yale University.

She is a laureate of several piano competitions and artist awards in the United States, Italy and Taiwan. She won the 52nd Annual Sorantin International Competition for Piano in 2011. She was honored as a Steinway Young Artist in 2014.

Huang performs as a soloist and chamber musician in the United States, Italy and Taiwan, including concertos with the National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra and members of the Philadelphia Orchestra.

She has studied with Claude Frank, Rolf-Peter Wille, Matti Raekallio, Daming Zhu and Hung-Kuan Chen.



RECITAL ROUND (video)    
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)

Toccata from Partita No. 6 in A Minor

Frederic Chopin (1810–1849)

Sonata No. 3 in B Minor, Op. 58
I. Allegro maestoso
II. Scherzo. Molto vivace
III. Largo
IV. Finale. Presto ma non tanto

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)

Sonata No. 31 in A-flat Major, Op. 110
I. Moderato cantabile molto espressivo
II. Scherzo: Allegro molto
III. Adagio ma non troppo - Fuga

Igor Stravinsky (1882–1971)

Trois mouvements de Petrouchka

Franz Schubert (1797–1828)

Sonata in B-flat Major, D960
I. Allegro
II. Andantino
III. Scherzo
IV. Rondo

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)

Variations and fugue on the theme of Händel, Op. 24

César Franck (1822–1890)

Sonata in A Major for Violin and Piano
I. Allegretto ben moderato
II. Allegro
III. Ben moderato: Recitative-Fantasia
IV. Allegretto poco mosso

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)

Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat Major, Op. 73, “Emperor”
I. Allegro
II. Adagio un poco mosso
III. Rondo. Allegro

Back to Top