Margaret Peggy Wood Staff Recognition Award

2014 Call for Nominations and Nomination Guidelines

Deadline for Nominations is Friday, April 18, 2014


Margaret ‘Peggy’ Wood served the higher educational needs of rural Alaska for 25 years. Peggy began her career in rural education as Director of the Learning Resources and Library Services, 1979-1986. She developed, packaged and evaluated correspondence study courses and telecourses/teleconferences that greatly expanded the range of course offerings in small towns and villages, and ushered in UA's ability to offer A.A. degrees to remote audiences.

Peggy also directed the Alaska Native Materials Development Center, and produced customized learning materials to meet a growing demand for instruction in new areas, such as village council administration and Alaska Native teacher aide training. She also assisted in creating new bilingual materials to enhance village-based instruction.

In 1986, Peggy moved to Dillingham as Director of the Bristol Bay Campus. Peggy held her position at the Bristol Bay Campus for 18 years. In late 2002, she moved to Nome to provide interim leadership to the Northwest Campus until her retirement in 2004. She will always be respected as a pioneer and an innovator in the university's mission to extend learning to all Alaskans, and will always be remembered for her dedication to improving the quality of life of rural communities.


The Margaret 'Peggy' Wood Staff Recognition Award is an annual award founded in 2004 to recognize outstanding staff working with rural students throughout the College of Rural and Community Development. The award is open to all staff at Bristol Bay Campus, Chukchi Campus, Interior-Aleutians Campus, Kuskokwim Campus, Northwest Campus and the UAF Community and Technical College.

Staff at the Center for Distance Education, Department of Alaska Native Studies and Rural Development, the Distance Early Childhood Education Program, the Department of Developmental Education, Rural Alaska Honors Institute, Rural Student Services and the CRCD Vice Chancellor’s Office are also eligible for nomination.

CRCD campus directors, the UAF Community and Technical College Dean and directors of the Department of Alaska Native Studies and Rural Development, the Center for Distance Education and Rural Student Services are not eligible for nomination.

Explanation of Award

Nomination letters may come from any university employee. The award recipient will receive a plaque, theirs to keep, which will identify them as a member of an elite few who have been formally recognized for their devotion to rural students and communities. The recipient will also receive a cash prize of $500. This award is made possible through donations from CRCD campus and program directors.

The campus or program that employs the honoree will also receive a plaque that will hang prominently for one year. At the end of the year, the plaque will be returned to the CRCD Vice Chancellor's Office. At this time, the plaque will be inscribed with the next award recipient’s name and shared with their employing campus or program.

Scoring Criteria

Scoring will be based on the following criteria (10 points each for a total of 50 points).

  1. The nominee promotes rural and community development
  2. The nominee advances healthy community initiatives in rural Alaska
  3. The nominee serves as an advocate for rural students
  4. The nominee demonstrates a high level of commitment to the mission of community campuses.
  5. The nominee engages effectively with leadership, students and/or the region to advance educational opportunities for rural students.

Deadline for Nominations

The deadline for receiving nomination letters is Friday, April 18, 2014.  Please email nominations to Izzy Martinez at  The award will be given during the UAF Staff Appreciation Day awards ceremony on May 14, 2014.

Please contact Izzy Martinez at or 907-474-5860 with any questions.

2014 Recipient

Jerry Domnick - Kuskokwim Campus

Past Award Recipients

2013 Mary Booth-Barger

2012 Becky "B.J." Alexander

2011 Heidi Simmons

2010 Gail Staudinger

2009 Barbara Nelson

2008 Vera Englishoe

2007 Susan Thames

2006 Pauline Bialy

2005 Carol Evans

2004 Martha Glore

Back to Top