rise board logo

Individuals interested in becoming RISE Board members should e-mail an application form and a brief resume to mamouton@alaska.edu.

Wyatt Hurlbut, Board Chair

Ian Johnson, Student Representative

I am a current graduate student at the University of Alaska Fairbanks studying through the Resilience and Adaptation Program (RAP) to achieve my M.S. degree in Wildlife Biology and Conservation with intended graduation in the spring of 2015. I am an avid outdoors-man who hunts, fishes, backpacks, canoes, goes birding, and kayaks; aside from that I am an amateur photographer who dabbles in guitar playing and fiddling/violin. I grew up in rural Minnesota and lived in Maine for several years before coming to Alaska.

I did my undergrad at Northland College (www.northland.edu) which had a strong environmental mission with composting in the cafeteria used in the community gardens, a strong recycling program, and a community based/ small feel to school and living. I carried those things through with me and am serving as the Resident Assistant in the Sustainable Village for the 2013-2014 school year (https://www.facebook.com/UafSustainableVillage). My interest in the RISE board is to bring the working concepts that I saw in my undergrad to UAF.


Christin Anderson, Vice Chair

I started my Natural Resources master's degree in fall 2013. I have a BA in Biology and Environmental Studies from Oberlin College. I am passionate about mycology, bioremediation, and dancing.  I was raised by park rangers in Death Valley National Park, but currently call Anchorage home. 

Michele Mouton, UAF Director of Sustainability (non-voting member)

Ben LaRue, Chancellor appointment

Matthew Carrick, ASUAF President

  • mtcarrick@alaska.edu

Jennifer Schell, Faculty Representative

  • jschell5@alaska.edu

Jason McNeely, Alternative Faculty Representative

  • jbmcneely@alaska.edu

Zoe Marshall, Student Representative

  • zmarshall@alaska.edu

Rocco Haro, Student Representative

  • rharo@alaska.edu

Ian Olson, Staff Council appointment

Anne Williamson, ASUAF appointed Office Manager (non-voting member)

Anne is the ASUAF Office Manager & Advisor for the Student Government. She is a UAF staff member as well as a non-traditional undergraduate in the Fine Arts program, which gives her a unique perspective on the relationship between UAF administration and student life.

Anne moved to Fairbanks in 2007, and enjoys the influence Alaska has had on her artwork. She also loves fishing, camping and hiking just as much as curling up on the couch with a honey latte and an epic sci-fi novel.

Back to Top