UAF Faculty Senate

2017-2018 Faculty Senate
Photo credit: JR Ancheta
Photo credit: JR Ancheta

The university, as a community of scholars sometimes referred to as the academy, vests responsibility for effectively carrying out its educational mission to the faculty. Faculty have traditionally played a key role in shared governance and academic collegiality of institutions of higher education.

The primary mechanism for the formulation and oversight of academic policy is the Faculty Senate. Concerns addressed by the Faculty Senate include the following: course and program development and change; policies related to academic procedures; academic freedom and faculty rights and responsibilities; and quality of teaching, research and service.


Reports and Items of Interest to Faculty and Faculty Senate

Concatenated Faculty Senate Motions for 2016-17 back to 1988
 (Searchable PDF, 456MB)

Faculty Senate Meeting #224
May 1, 2017
2016-17 Faculty Senate meets 1:00 - approx. 3:00 PM
2017-18 Faculty Senate meets approx. 3:15 - 3:45 PM
Wood Center Carol Brown Ballroom
Livestream Recording:

 Special Faculty Senate Meeting #223
April 24, 2017
1:00 - 3:00 PM at BOR Conference Room (109 Butrovich Building) 
Recording of Special Faculty Senate Meeting #223 (housed on Kaltura site)

Recording of the April 13, 2017 BOR Special Meeting [.mp3, 107MB]

  • 12th Annual Promotion and Tenure Workshop:
    Friday, April 21, 2017 (SpringFest - no classes)
    10:00 AM to Noon at 109 Butrovich Building
  • Recording Link for the April 21 Workshop
    Workshop begins 8 min. and 25 seconds into the recording.
    Recommended browsers: Internet Explorer and Safari
  • Google doc Link to submit questions for the Workshop Panel
  • Flyer for the Workshop (PDF)

Recording of Dec. 14, 2016 BOR Special Meeting (.mp3; 58MB)
Meeting started at 9 AM, progressing for approx. 15 minutes before the BOR went into executive session. This audio recording begins after the BOR came out of that initial executive session. It ends just before the BOR went back into another executive session to discuss matters related to Title IX and a Facility Clearance Resolution. See the BOR Agenda for Dec. 14.

Strategic Pathways Information (link to statewide website)

REVISED Flyer on Changes to Public Testimony at Board of Regents Meetings
(Includes a 2016-2017 Schedule; version as of 08/29/2016)

Future Academic Calendars
Link above takes you to the statewide VPAAR web site; see "Approved Common Calendar Dates for AY17 - AY20" under the heading of News and Updates.

Links to information about Strategic Pathways (statewide sites)

Link to The Statewide Voice (or TSV, for short)
TSV is produced by the UA Office of Public Affairs.

ARCHIVE PAGE: Links to reports and items of interest from prior years.

For more information:
Faculty Senate Coordinator, UAF Governance Office
Chris Fallen, Faculty Senate President
Donie Bret-Harte, President-Elect
Orion Lawlor, Past President










Back to Top