Alaska Legislature

On Friday, June 28 the governor vetoed the state-funded portion of the university operating budget by $130 million. When combined with the $5 million cut previously approved by the legislature, we are being asked to cut $135 million, or 41% from our current state funding level of $327 million The only possible recourse to this budget veto is to seek a legislative override and ask our legislators to support UA's state funded budget of $322 million – the amount approved by both the House and the Senate. Please ask your legislators to affirm their support for the university by voting to override this veto. If not overridden, this veto will strike an institutional and reputational blow from which we may likely never recover.

Use these lists to help you contact your legislator, or members of key committees. Not sure who your legislator is? Visit the Alaska Legislature’s home page and scroll down to find the “Who represents me” tool.

 University employees: When communicating with legislators, please remember to do so on your personal time such as during lunch or after work, and avoid using your university email.


Senators District Phone Toll-free Email address
Scott Kawasaki A 907-465-3466 866-465-3466 Senator.Scott.Kawasaki@akleg.gov
John Coghill B 907-465-3719 866-465-3719 Senator.John.Coghill@akleg.gov
Click Bishop C 907-465-2327 866-336-7383 Senator.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov
Representatives District Phone Toll-free Email address
Bart LeBon 1 907-465-3709 877-665-3709 Representative.Bart.LeBon@akleg.gov
Steve Thompson 2 907-465-3004 877-465-3004 Representative.Steve.Thompson@akleg.gov
Tammie Wilson 3 907-465-4797 800-860-4797 Representative.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov
Grier Hopkins 4 907-465-4457 800-928-4457 Representative.Grier.Hopkins@akleg.gov
Adam Wool 5 907-465-4976 866-465-4976 Representative.Adam.Wool@akleg.gov
Dave Talerico 6 907-465-4527 800-491-4527 Representative.Dave.Talerico@akleg.gov
Representatives District Phone Toll-free Email address

Harriet Drummond
(co-chair)

18 907-465-3875 800-922-3875 Representative.Harriet.Drummond@akleg.gov
Andi Story
(co-chair)
34 907-465-3744 800-968-6744 Representative.Andi.Story@akleg.gov
Grier Hopkins 4 907-465-4457 800-928-4457 Representative.Grier.Hopkins@akleg.gov
Chris Tuck 23 907-465-2095 866-465-2095  Representative.Chris.Tuck@akleg.gov
Tiffany Zulkosky 38  907-465-4942 800-323-4942 Representative.Tiffany.Zulkosky@akleg.gov
Josh Revak 25 907-465-3879 888-269-3879 Representative.Josh.Revak@akleg.gov
DeLena Johnson 11 907-465-4958 866-465-4958 Representative.DeLena.Johnson@akleg.gov
Representatives District Phone Toll-free Email address
Neal Foster
(co-chair)
39 907-465-3789 800-478-3789 Representative.Neal.Foster@akleg.gov
Tammie Wilson
(co-chair)
3 907-465-4797 800-860-4797 Representative.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov
Jennifer Johnston 28 907-465-4949 800-478-4950 Representative.Jennifer.Johnston@akleg.gov
Andy Josephson 17 907-465-4939 800-465-4939 Representative.Andy.Josephson@akleg.gov
Gary Knopp 30 907-465-2693 800-463-2693 Representative.Gary.Knopp@akleg.gov
Bart LeBon 1 907-465-3709 877-665-3709 Representative.Barton.LeBon@akleg.gov
Dan Ortiz 36 907-465-3824 800-686-3824 Representative.Dan.Ortiz@akleg.gov
Cathy Tilton 12 907-465-2199 800-342-2199 Representative.Cathy.Tilton@akleg.gov
Kelly Merrick 14 907-465-3777 800-861-5688 Representative.Kelly.Merrick@akleg.gov
Colleen
Sullivan-Leonard
7 907-465-4833 800-782-4833 Representative.Colleen.Sullivan-Leonard@akleg.gov
Ben Carpenter 29 907-465-3779 800-469-3779 Representative.Ben.Carpenter@akleg.gov
Senators District Phone Toll-free Email address
Gary Stevens 
(chair)
P 907-465-4925 800-821-4925 Senator.Gary.Stevens@akleg.gov
Shelley Hughes 
(vice chair)
F 907-465-3743 800-565-3743 Senator.Shelley.Hughes@akleg.gov 
Chris Birch M 907-465-4931 800-870-4931 Senator.Chris.Birch@akleg.gov
Mia Costello K 907-465-4968 800-773-4968 Senator.Mia.Costello@akleg.gov
Tom Begich J 907-465-3704 888-330-3704 Senator.Tom.Begich@akleg.gov
Senators District Phone Toll-free Email address
Bert Stedman
(co-chair)
R 907-465-3873 877-463-3873 Senator.Bert.Stedman@akleg.gov
Natasha von Imhof
(co-chair)
L 907-465-2995 800-365-2995  Senator.Natasha.vonImhof@akleg.gov
Click Bishop C 907-465-2327 800-336-7383 Senator.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov
Lyman Hoffman S 907-465-4453 866-465-4453 Senator.Lyman.Hoffman@akleg.gov
Peter Micciche O 907-465-2828 800-964-5733 Senator.Peter.Micciche@akleg.gov
Mike Shower E 907-465-6600 877-465-6601 Senator.Mike.Shower@akleg.gov
David Wilson D 907-465-3878 800-862-3878 Senator.David.Wilson@akleg.gov
Donald Olson T 907-465-4821 800-597-3707 Senator.Donald.Olson@akleg.gov
Bill Wielechowski H 907-465-6615 800-550-2435  Senator.Bill.Wielechowski@akleg.gov
Representatives District Phone Toll-free Email
Ben Carpenter 29 907-465-3779 800-469-3779 Representative.Benjamin.Carpenter@akleg.gov
Matt Claman 21 907-465-4919 888-465-4919 Representative.Matt.Claman@akleg.gov
Harriett Drummond 18 907-465-3875 800-922-3875 Representative.Harriet.Drummond@akleg.gov
David Eastman 10 907-465-2186 800-468-2186 Representative.David.Eastman@akleg.gov
Bryce Edgmon 37 907-465-4451 800-898-4451 Representative.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov
Zack Fields 20 907-465-2647 888-465-2647 Representative.Zack.Fields@akleg.gov
Neal Foster 39 907-465-3789 800-478-3789 Representative.Neal.Foster@akleg.gov
Sara Hannan 33 907-465-4766 877-465-4766 Representative.Sara.Hannan@akleg.gov
Grier Hopkins 4 907-465-4457 800-928-4457 Representative.Grier.Hopkins@akleg.gov
Sharon Jackson 13 907-465-3783 877-460-3783 Representative.Sharon.Jackson@akleg.gov
Delena Johnson 11 907-465-4958 866-465-4958 Representative.Delena.Johnson@akleg.gov
Jennifer Johnston 28 907-465-4949 800-478-4950 Representative.Jennifer.Johnston@akleg.gov
Andy Josephson 17 907-465-4939 800-465-4939 Representative.Andy.Josephson@akleg.gov
Gary Knopp 30 907-465-2693 800-463-2693 Representative.Gary.Knopp@akleg.gov
Chuck Kopp 24 907-465-4993 866-465-4993 Representative.Chuck.Kopp@akleg.gov
Jonathan Kreiss-Tomkins 35 907-465-3732 888-461-3732 Representative.Jonathan.Kreiss-Tomkins@akleg.gov
Bart LeBon 1 907-465-3709 877-665-3709 Representative.Bart.LeBon@akleg.gov
Gabrielle Ledoux 15 907-465-4998 800-689-4998 Representative.Gabrielle.Ledoux@akleg.gov
John Lincoln 40 907-465-3473 888-288-3473 Representative.John.Lincoln@akleg.gov
Kelly Merrick 14 907-465-3777 800-861-5688 Representative.Kelly.Merrick@akleg.gov
Mark Neuman 8 907-465-2679 800-505-2678 Representative.Mark.Neuman@akleg.gov
Daniel Ortiz 36 907-465-3824 800-686-3824 Representative.Daniel.Ortiz@akleg.gov
Lance Pruitt 27 907-465-3438 888-478-3438 Representative.Lance.Pruitt@akleg.gov
Sara Rasmussen 22 907-465-3892 866-465-3892 Representative.Sara.Rasmussen@akleg.gov
George Rauscher 9 907-465-4859 888-465-4859 Representative.George.Rauscher@akleg.gov
Josh Revak 25 907-465-3879 888-269-3879 Representative.Josh.Revak@akleg.gov
Laddie Shaw 26 907-465-4945 866-465-4945 Representative.Laddie.Shaw@akleg.gov
Ivy Spohnholz 16 907-465-4940 866-465-4940 Representative.Ivy.Spohnholz@akleg.gov
Andi Story 34 907-465-3744 800-968-6744 Representative.Andi.Story@akleg.gov
Louise Stutes 32 907-465-2487 800-865-2487 Representative.Louise.Stutes@akleg.gov
Colleen Sullivan-Leonard 7 907-465-4833 800-782-4833 Representative.Colleen.Sullivan-Leonard@akleg.gov
David Talerico 6 907-465-4527 800-491-4527 Representative.David.Talerico@akleg.gov
Geran Tarr 19 907-465-3424 800-303-2455 Representative.Geran.Tarr@akleg.gov
Steve Thompson 2 907-465-3004 877-465-3004 Representative.Steve.Thompson@akleg.gov
Cathy Tilton 12 907-465-2199 800-342-2199 Representative.Cathy.Tilton@akleg.gov
Chris Tuck 23 907-465-2095 866-465-2095 Representative.Chris.Tuck@akleg.gov
Sarah Vance 31 907-465-2689 800-665-2689 Representative.Sarah.Vance@akleg.gov
Tammie Wilson 3 907-465-4797 800-860-4797 Representative.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov
Adam Wool 5 907-465-4976 866-465-4976 Representative.Adam.Wool@akleg.gov
Tiffany Zulkosky 38 907-465-4942 800-323-4942 Representative.Tiffany.Zulkosky@akleg.gov
Senators District Phone Toll-free Email
Tom Begich J 907-465-3704 888-330-3704 Senator.Tom.Begich@akleg.gov
Chris Birch M 907-465-4931 800-870-4931 Senator.Chris.Birch@akleg.gov
Click Bishop C 907-465-2327 800-336-7383 Senator.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov
John Coghill B 907-465-3719 877-465-3719 Senator.John.Coghill@akleg.gov
Mia Costello K 907-465-4968 800-773-4968 Senator.Mia.Costello@akleg.gov
Cathy Giessel N 907-465-4843 800-892-4843 Senator.Cathy.Giessel@akleg.gov
Elvi Gray-Jackson I 907-465-4930 800-331-4930 Senator.Elvi.Gray-Jackson@akleg.gov
Lyman Hoffman S 907-465-4453 866-465-4453 Senator.Lyman.Hoffman@akleg.gov
Shelley Hughes F 907-465-3743 800-565-3743 Senator.Shelley.Hughes@akleg.gov
Scott Kawasaki A 907-465-3466 866-465-3466 Senator.Scott.Kawasaki@akleg.gov
Jesse Kiehl Q 907-465-4947 855-465-4947 Senator.Jesse.Kiehl@akleg.gov
Peter Micciche O 907-465-2828 800-964-5733 Senator.Peter.Micciche@akleg.gov
Donald Olson T 907-465-3707 800-597-3707 Senator.Donald.Olson@akleg.gov
Lora Reinbold G 907-465-3822 800-770-3822 Senator.Lora.Reinbold@akleg.gov
Mike Shower E 907-465-6600 877-465-6601 Senator.Mike.Shower@akleg.gov
Bert Stedman R 907-465-3873 877-463-3873 Senator.Bert.Stedman@akleg.gov
Gary Stevens P 907-465-4925 800-821-4925 Senator.Gary.Stevens@akleg.gov
Natasha von Imhof L 907-465-2995 800-365-2995 Senator.Natasha.vonImhof@akleg.gov
Bill Wielechowski H 907-465-2435 800-550-2435 Senator.Bill.Wielechowski@akleg.gov
David Wilson D 907-465-3878 800-862-3878 Senator.David.Wilson@akleg.gov