Faculty & Staff Directory

Mathematics

Allman, Elizabeth
2005. Professor of Mathematics.
University of California, Los Angeles 1995, Ph.D.
Mathematical biology, computational algebra, algebraic statistics.
CH 308B     474-2479
e.allman@alaska.edu

Avdonin, Sergei
2001. Professor of Mathematics.
St. Petersburg (Leningrad) State University 1977, Ph.D.
Nonharmonic Fourier series, partial differential equations, control theory, inverse problems.
CH 304A     474-5023
s.avdonin@alaska.edu

Berman, Leah, Department Chair
2009. Professor of Mathematics.
University of Washington 2002, Ph.D.
Configurations; discrete geometry.

Bowman, Latrice
2002. Instructor of Mathematics.
Northcentral University 2019, Ph.D.
CH 210B     474-5427
lnbowman@alaska.edu

Bueler, Ed
1998. Professor of Mathematics (Applied).
Cornell University 1997. Ph.D.
Numerical analysis and partial differential equations.
CH 306C
elbueler@alaska.edu

Faudree, Jill
1998. Professor of Mathematics.
Emory University 1998, Ph.D.
Combinatorics; graph theory.
CH 306B     474-7385
jrfaudree@alaska.edu

Gimbel, John
1987. Professor of Mathematics.
Western Michigan University 1984, Ph.D.
Graph theory; combinatorics; order.
CH 304C     474-6102
jggimbel@alaska.edu

Jurkowski, Caleb
Instructor of Mathematics
Uinversity of Alaska Fairbanks 2017, MS
CH 301C
cjjurkowski@alaska.edu

Maxwell, David
2004. Associate Professor of Mathematics.
University of Washington 2004, Ph.D.
Partial differential equations, geometric analysis, mathematical physics.
CH 308C     474-1196
damaxwell@alaska.edu

Rhodes, John
2005. Professor of Mathematics.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1986, Ph.D.
Mathematical biology, algebraic statistics.
CH 208B     474-5445
j.rhodes@alaska.edu

Rickard, Anthony
2003. Professor of Mathematics Education.
Michigan State University, 1993, Ph.D.
Problem solving; curriculum development; multicultural and rural education.
CH 301B     474-5374
adrickard@alaska.edu

Rybkin, Alexei
1998. Professor of Mathematics.
Leningrad State University 1985, Ph.D.
Operator theory, complex analysis, math physics.
CH 304B     474-6002
arybkin@alaska.edu

VanSpronsen, Hillary
2013. Instructor of Mathematics (Distance)
hvanspronsen@alaska.edu

Williams, Gordon
2009. Associate Professor of Mathematics.
University of Washington 2002, Ph.D.
Discrete geometry, especially abstract polytopes, convex polytopes and tilings
CH 306D     474-2756
giwilliams@alaska.edu

Statistics

Barry, Ronald
1991. Professor of Statistics.
University of California, Irvine 1991, Ph.D.
Experimental design, spatial statistics.
CH 201C 474-7226
rpbarry@alaska.edu

Goddard, Scott
2015. Assistant Professor of Statistics
CH 201E     474-5514
sdgoddard@alaska.edu

McIntyre, Julie
2006. Associate Professor of Statistics.
North Carolina State University 2003, Ph.D.
Measurement error models and nonparametric statistics.
CH 201D     474-7772
jpmcintyre@alaska.edu

Short, Margaret
2006. Associate Professor of Statistics.
University of Minnesota 2003, Ph.D.
Bayesian spatial and spatio-temporal statistical modeling
CH 201B     474-5249
mshort18@alaska.edu


Staff

Chapin, Carolyn
Undergraduate Academic Advising Coordinator
Margaret Murie Building 101A
Reichardt     362 474-5548
carolyn.chapin@alaska.edu

Dolan, Kellie
2000. Office Manager,  Building Coordinator.
CH 101B     474-6118
kmdolan@alaska.edu


Adjunct Faculty

Avdonina, Nina
2003. Adjunct Professor
St. Petersburg (Leningrad) State University 1979, Ph.D.
Quantum mechanics, scattering theory, inverse problems.
CH 107 474-7273
navdonina@alaska.edu

Bastille, Odile
Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics
CH 208A
orbastille@alaska.edu

Egenolf, John
1989. Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics
CH 107
jegenolf@alaska.edu

Getz, Martin
1986. Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics
CH 107
mpgetz@alaska.edu


Retired Faculty

Gatterdam, Ronald (Ron),
1982. Professor Emeritus of Computer Science and Mathematics (retired 2003).
University of California, Irvine 1970 , Ph.D.
Computer science; computability; complexity of algorithms .
rgatt@alaska.net

Quang, Pham X.
1985. Professor Emeritus of Statistics (retired 2001).
University of California, Berkeley 1974, Ph.D.
Theoretical statistics; sampling designs.

Tape, Walter
1982. Professor Emeritus of Mathematics (retired 2004).
University of Michigan 1968, Ph.D.
Atmospheric optics.
wtape@alaska.edu