Airplane flying over cities and globeTraveling Outside the U.S?

Before traveling outside the U.S., it is advisable to check for travel alerts in the part(s) of the world you are traveling to.

Learn About your Destination – information from the U.S. Department of State.

For specific information regarding travel by UAF – sponsored foreign nationals presently in the U.S. see our Travel Guidelines page.

Holiday Travel:  If you are traveling over the holiday season, whether internationally or within the U.S., you may wish to review 5 holiday travel tips from the Transportation Security Administration before leaving.  These tips are also valid when traveling at other times of the year.

Before traveling, it is important to understand that information and guidelines surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic are still changing. It is important to look at the following websites before, as well as during, any travel, especially international travel.

Please remember that several travel advisories and travel restrictions are still in effect. If you are traveling you must know possible restrictions, bans, and policies for the country of your destination. You must also know possible restrictions, bans, and policies for returning to the U.S. from the country you visited.

The CDC has information about traveling to the U.S. from abroad.

When you arrive in the U.S., you must be able to present a negative COVID test result.

Statewide information is available for anyone arriving in Alaska, from abroad or domestically.

UAF has COVID travel guidelines in place. Please be sure you are aware of them prior to travel. UAF’s COVID webpage is also a great place to find campus specific information. Also, be aware of the most up to date UAF campus entry restrictions for when you have arrived back in Fairbanks. 

It is important to continue checking the websites regularly for the most current and up-to-date information since it may change unexpectedly.

Also, be aware that the following countries are under travel restrictions due to COVID-19:

  • Brazil
  • China
  • European Schengen Area (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland)
  • India
  • Iran
  • Repuiblic of Ireland
  • South Africa
  • United Kingdom

In order to enter the U.S. from any of the aforementioned countries, you must have a National Interest Exception (NIE) if you are not a U.S. citizen or U.S. Permanent Resident. If you have any questions about the NIE or international travel during the COVID-19 pandemic, please email us at