Margaret Peggy Wood Staff Recognition Award

Call for Nominations and Nomination Guidelines


Deadline for 2019 Nominations is APRIL 15, 2019.


This award honors Dr. Margaret ‘Peggy’ Wood, who served the higher educational needs of rural Alaska for 25 years. Peggy began her career in rural education as Director of the Learning Resources and Library Services, 1979-1986. She developed, packaged and evaluated correspondence study courses and telecourses/teleconferences that greatly expanded the range of course offerings in small towns and villages, and ushered in UA's ability to offer A.A. degrees to remote audiences.

Peggy also directed the Alaska Native Materials Development Center, and produced customized learning materials to meet a growing demand for instruction in new areas, such as village council administration and Alaska Native teacher aide training. She also assisted in creating new bilingual materials to enhance village-based instruction.

In 1986, Peggy moved to Dillingham as Director of the Bristol Bay Campus. Peggy held her position at the Bristol Bay Campus for 18 years. In late 2002, she moved to Nome to provide interim leadership to the Northwest Campus until her retirement in 2004.

She will always be respected as a pioneer and an innovator in the university's mission to extend learning to all Alaskans, and will always be remembered for her dedication to improving the quality of life of rural communities.


The Margaret 'Peggy' Wood Staff Recognition Award is an annual award established in 2004 to recognize an outstanding individual working with rural students throughout the College of Rural and Community Development. The award is open to all staff (excluding deans, directors, executive staff and faculty) in the College of Rural and Community Development including  Bristol Bay Campus, Chukchi Campus, Interior Alaska Campus, Kuskokwim Campus, Northwest Campus and the UAF Community and Technical College.


Nomination letters may come from ANY employee in the University of Alaska. The award recipient will be publicly recognized for their outstanding, work-related service to rural students and will receive a plaque and gift as determined by the vice chancellor for Rural, Community and Native Education.

The campus or program that employs the honoree will also receive a plaque that will hang prominently for one year. At the end of the year, the plaque will be returned to the RCNE Vice Chancellor's Office.


Scoring will be based on the following criteria (10 points each for a total of 50 points).

  1. The nominee promotes rural and community development.
  2. The nominee advances healthy community initiatives in rural Alaska.
  3. The nominee serves as an advocate for rural students.
  4. The nominee demonstrates a high level of commitment to the mission of community campuses.
  5. The nominee engages effectively with leadership, students and/or the region to advance educational opportunities for rural students.


The deadline for receiving nominations is APRIL 15, 2019.  Nominations should be submitted online via the google nomination form at Margaret "Peggy" Wood Staff Recognition Award Form.   

For questions or to submit supporting documentation, please contact Ashley Holloway at or 907-474-7143.


2018 Recipient

Rebekah Fonkert -  Bristol Bay Campus

Past Award Recipients

2017 Denise Wartes - Fairbanks Campus

2016 Kacey Miller - Northwest Campus

2015 Carol Gales - Northwest Campus

2014 Jerry Domnick - Kuskokwim Campus

2013 Mary Booth-Barger - Chukchi Campus

2012 Becky "B.J." Alexander - Bristol Bay Campus

2011 Heidi Simmons

2010 Gail Staudinger

2009 Barbara Nelson

2008 Vera Englishoe

2007 Susan Thames - Bristol Bay Campus

2006 Pauline Bialy - Kuskokwim Campus

2005 Carol Evans - Bristol Bay Campus

2004 Martha Glore - Kuskokwim Campus

Back to Top