Hyejin Kim

Praised by critics as “a pianist who is truly passionate, sensitive and musical,” Hyejin Kim performs internationally as a soloist with orchestras and in recitals, as well as a chamber musician.

A recent review reported that “her playing showed much thought, and she controlled every note and nuance. Her audience jumped to its feet with elation.” 

Kim was born in Seoul, South Korea. She began piano studies at the age of 5. She entered Seoul’s Yewon Arts School, the most famous in Korea. 

In 2004, she began showing her musicality through international festivals and competitions. In 2005, she was the youngest third-prize winner in the history of the Busoni International Piano Competition. She received a Steinway & Sons advancement award in 2011. 

Kim received musical arts diploma from the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin in 2011 and is now in post-graduate studies with Professor Fabio Bidini.



RECITAL ROUND (video)    
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)

Sonata No. 28 in A Major, Op. 101
I. Etwas lebhaft und mit innigsten Empfindung
II. Lebhaft, marschmäßig
III. Langsam und sehnsuchtvoll
IV. Geschwing, doch nicht zu sehr

Franz Liszt (1811–1886) Rhapsodie Espagnole, S. 254
Sergei Prokofiev (1891–1953)

Sonata No. 4 in C Minor, Op. 29
I. Allegro molto sostenuto
II. Andante assai
III. Allegro con brio, ma non leggiero

Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)

II. Oiseaux tristes
III. Une barque sur l’océan
IV. Alborada del gracioso

Franz Schubert (1797–1828)

Sonata in A Major, D959
I. Allegro
II. Andantino
III. Scherzo
IV. Rondo

Domenico Scarlatti (1685–1757)

Sonata in B Minor, K. 87
Sonata in A Major, K. 24

Frederic Chopin (1810–1849)

Sonata No. 2 in B-flat Minor, Op. 35
I. Grave. Doppio movimento
II. Scherzo
III. Marche funèbre: Lento
IV. Finale. Presto. Sotto voce e legato

César Franck (1822–1890)

Sonata in A Major for Violin and Piano
I. Allegretto ben moderato
II. Allegro
III. Ben moderato: Recitative-Fantasia
IV. Allegretto poco mosso

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873–1943)

Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18
I. Moderato
II. Adagio Sostenuto
III. Allegro scherzando

Back to Top