Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE)

Undergraduates living in western states can use WUE to get higher education at a public college or university outside their home state but within the western region at a reduced tuition cost. WUE eligibility at UAF is reserved for incoming undergraduate students pursuing approved programs.



Map of WUE participating statesWUE participating states

Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands (CNMI).

NOTE: Students attending any campus of the University of Alaska system under the Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) program are receiving the benefit of reduced tuition because of their residency in a partner state. Therefore, time spent in WUE does not count toward the time to establish residency in Alaska for tuition purposes.



WUE Tuition and Fees

As a WUE participant you will be charged a reduced tuition rate equal to 150 percent of the amount charged to Alaska residents. University fees, books and supplies, and room and board are the same for all students at UAF.



Approved programs of study

Students can pursue any major available at UAF.

  • Accounting
  • Alaska Native Studies
  • Anthropology
  • Art
  • Biological Sciences
  • Business Administration
  • Chemistry
  • Child Development & Family Studies
  • Civil Engineering
  • Communication
  • Computer Engineering
  • Computer Science
  • Earth Science
  • Economics
  • Education, Elementary
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Emergency Management
  • English
  • Eskimo (Inupiaq or Yup'ik)
  • Fisheries
  • Foreign Languages
  • General Studies (Undecided)
  • Geography
  • Geological Engineering
  • Geology
  • History
  • Japanese Studies
  • Journalism
  • Justice
  • Linguistics
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mining Engineering
  • Music
  • Natural Resources Management
  • Northern Studies
  • Petroleum Engineering
  • Philosophy
  • Physics
  • Physics, Applied
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Rural Development
  • Russian Studies
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Statistics
  • Technology
  • Theatre
  • Wildlife Biology
  • Yup'ik Language & Culture
  • Accounting, Applied
  • Apprenticeship Technology
  • Aviation Maintenance
  • Business, Applied
  • Community Health
  • Construction Management
  • Construction Trades Technology
  • Culinary Arts
  • Dental Assistant
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Educator: Para-Professional
  • Emergency Services
  • Human Services
  • Information Technology Specialist
  • Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Medical Assistant
  • Native Language Education
  • Paralegal Studies
  • Piloting, Professional
  • Process Technology
  • Renewable Resources
  • Tribal Management
  • Yup'ik Language Proficiency
  • Accounting Technician
  • Airframe
  • Airframe & Powerplant
  • Automotive Technology
  • Aviation Technology
  • Business Management, Applied
  • Community Health
  • Construction Trades Technology
  • Culinary Arts
  • Dental Assistant
  • Diesel/Heavy Equipment
  • Drafting Technology
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Educator: Para-Professional
  • Ground Vehicle Maintenance
  • Health Care Reimbursement
  • High Latitude Range Management
  • Information Technology Specialist
  • Instrumentation Technology
  • Medical Assistant
  • Medical/Dental Reception
  • Mining Applications & Technologies
  • Native Language Education
  • Office Management and Technology
  • Phlebotomy
  • Power Generation
  • Powerplant
  • Rural Human Services
  • Safety, Health & Environmental Awareness Technology
  • Tribal Management
  • Veterinary Science
  • Yup'ik Language Proficiency


Special instructions

  1. Apply to UAF online, using the application instructions below.
  2. Fill out and send in the WUE application (PDF).

Application instructions

Apply today!

  1. Register with an email address and create a password.

  2. Create a profile with basic identification and contact information.

  3. Start an application, select a term, program and tell us about your academic history. Once you begin filling out an online application, you can save and complete it later.

  4. Electronically sign, pay and submit your application.

If you have any questions as you are going through the application process, please contact us — we are here to help.