Biochemistry & Neuroscience

 

Own your future

Our Biochemistry & Neuroscience program is competitive, offers a broad selection of courses, and incredible research opportunities in state-of-the-art facilities. Whether you are pursuing your M.S. or PhD, a graduate degree in Biochemistry & Neuroscience will help you achieve the future you desire.

Degree Requirements
 
 

Our Program

The graduate program in Biochemistry and Neuroscience supports training and research excellence in core areas including cellular and molecular neuroscience, drug discovery and bioanalytical chemistry. Our program contributes to the Biomedical and One Health Science community at the University of Alaska and seeks to better understand and develop technologies related to the Arctic. The goal of the program is to prepare students for careers in biochemistry and neuroscience to meet workforce demand within academia, industry, government and legal services.

Please contact core and associated faculty (listed below) to inquire about specific research training opportunities.

 

Name Email address
Kelly L. Drew (Program Coordinator) kdrew@alasaka.edu
Lawrence K. Duffy lkduffy@alaska.edu
Kriya L. Dunlap kldunlap@alaska.edu
Thomas K. Green tkgreen@alaska.edu
William A. Howard wahoward@alaska.edu
Maegan M. Weltzin mmweltzin@alaska.edu

Located at UAF in Fairbanks

Name Email address
Abel Bult-Ito abultio@alaska.edu
Jack Chen j.chen@alaska.edu
Karsten Heuffer khueffer@alaska.edu
Mary Beth Leigh mbleigh@alaska.edu
Kristin Obrien kmobrien@alaska.edu
Anshul Pandya aapandya@alaska.edu
Arleigh Reynolds ajreynolds@alaska.edu

Located at UAA in Anchorage

Name Email address
Jason Burkhead jlburkhead@alaska.edu
Khrys Duddleston knduddleston@alaska.edu
Timothy Hinterberger tjhinterberger@alaska.edu
Max Kullberg pkullberg@alaska.edu

 

Program Coordinator

Kelly Drew

Kelly Drew

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Ph.D., Albany Medical College, 1988. (Neuropharmacology)

Biochemistry & Neuroscience

Murie Building, Room 223

Dr. Drew's Profile

 

 

Students

Degree Process

If you are pursuing a PhD then you are required to take graduate courses, complete a research-based thesis, and pass comprehensive and final oral examinations. We encourage you to take a wide range of courses. Thesis research is undertaken in collaboration with a thesis advisor who also chairs the your graduate advisory committee. The committee helps advise on scientific and academic matters, oversees the various graduate exams, and approves your thesis. You will choose your major advisor and committee during your first year of graduate school. 

As a Biochemistry & Neuroscience major you will have the option to concentrate in either biochemistry or neuroscience.  

Biochemistry & Neuroscience Concentration Degree Requirements

Support

Generally, students are supported throughout their appointments, either by teaching assistantships in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, or by a research assistantship. The latter are funded by grants from the state or federal agencies secured by our faculty.

Learn more

Learning Outcomes

  • Attain a level of technical ability and knowledge to function as professionals in your discipline.
  • M.S. graduates will have performed research using technical and problem solving skills to contribute to their field.  Doctoral graduates demonstrate that they can independently identify a problem and devise appropriate methods for its solution, contributing original knowledge to that field. 
  • Communication and presentation skills are consistent with professional standards.   
  • Obtain employment or continue education in the field following graduation.