Mr. Terry Johnson

Professor of Fisheries, Emeritus

WHEREAS Mr. Terry L. Johnson has served the University of Alaska Fairbanks with distinction in teaching and public service from 1991 to 2017; and

WHEREAS Mr. Johnson served as the Marine Advisory Agent for the Bristol Bay region for nine years, researching salmon markets and providing many outreach activities benefitting the region; and

WHEREAS Mr. Johnson became the statewide Tourism and Recreation Specialist, developing a responsible marine wildlife viewing initiative, preparing a guide to rural ecotourism and providing technical assistance to ecotourism development; and

WHEREAS Mr. Johnson is widely known for his publications, including the “Boatkeeper” column, the Alaska Climate Change Adaptation Planning Tool, the Fishermen’s Direct Marketing Manual, “Ocean Treasure: Commercial Fishing in Alaska” and “Bering Sea and Aleutian Islands: Region of Wonders,” among many others; and

WHEREAS Mr. Johnson served as the Alaska Advisor, Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission; a member of the Alaska Boating Safety Advisory Council; and a member of the Board of Advisors, Alaska Marine Conservation Council, among many other professional service activities;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the University of Alaska Fairbanks expresses its deep appreciation to Mr. Terry L. Johnson for his extensive contributions to the State of Alaska and to the University; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the University of Alaska Fairbanks, in further recognition of the invaluable services rendered by Mr. Johnson and as evidence of the University’s desire that his identification with the University be maintained, hereby salutes the appointment of Mr. Terry L. Johnson as Professor of Fisheries, Emeritus; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution be appropriately engrossed and signed by the Chancellor of the University of Alaska Fairbanks as further evidence of the esteem and respect in which he holds Mr. Terry L. Johnson, and conveyed to Mr. Johnson on this 4th day of May, 2018.