About us

Mission Statement

At the University of Alaska Fairbanks, URSA supports, develops and institutionalizes UAF's diverse and robust programs of undergraduate research and creative scholarship. At all levels, URSA aims to improve skills in critical thinking and communication and to engender a culture of life-long learning among all students, as well as enhance preparation and education of students who will fill the needs of Alaska’s 21st century workforce and society. URSA is UAF’s resource for the development and promotion of experiential learning activities that engage undergraduate students to support UAF’s goal to become a leading student-focused research university. Building on existing efforts and capacities, URSA enables UAF students to pursue varying levels of research engagement from a single credit of first-year seminar to independent scholarly investigations or a senior thesis including BFA exhibit or performance

Click here to view the URSA brochure.


Dr. Trent Sutton, Ph.D

URSA Director
tmsutton@alaska.edu | 907-474-7285

Trent is a Professor of Fisheries Biology and an Associate Dean in the College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences. Trent completed his undergraduate education in Fisheries and Wildlife at Michigan State University, and received a M.S. in Biological Sciences from Michigan Technological University and a Ph.D. in Fisheries Sciences from Virginia Tech. Prior to coming to UAF in 2007, Trent held faculty positions at both Lake Superior State University (1996-2001) and Purdue University (2001-2007).

Kate Pendleton
URSA Coordinator
klpendleton@alaska.edu | 907-450-8772

Kate manages the URSA awards process, organizes events, maintains the student tracking system and provides assistance for all URSA activities. She received a B.S. degree in Environmental Science from Lewis & Clark College.



URSA Advisory Board

The URSA Advisory Board meets once each semester during the academic year.  It provides a forum for formulating advice and making recommendations to the URSA Director regarding all aspects of the URSA Program. The board consists of faculty from each of the Universities Schools and Colleges. Faculty serve on the Advisory Board for 2 years. Members for academic year 2019-20:

Ana Aguilar-Islas
Associate Professor, Chemical Oceanography
Irving II 335-A , 907-474-1524

Elaine Drew
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
307C Bunnell Bldg.

Alex Fitts
Vice-Provost and Accreditation Liaison Officer
316 Signers Hall, 907-474-6253

Brian Hemphill
Associate Professor, Anthropology
401 Bunnell, 907-474-6755

Carie Green
Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, School of Education
714D Gruening, 907-474-5516




Joanne Healy
Assistant Professor, Special Education
714A Gruening, 907-474-1557

Steffi Ickert-Bond
Professor of Botany, Curator of Herbarium
040 Museum, 907-474-6277

Peggy Keiper
Director, Sport and Recreation Business Assistant Professor, Sport and Recreation Business
209 Bunnell Bldg.
(907) 474-5905

Sun Woo Kim
Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
323 Duckering, 907-474-6096




Charles Mason
Professor, Journalism
105B Bunnell, 907-474-6217

Anshul Pandya
Assistant Professor, Biosciences, College of Rural Studies and Community Development
Chuckchi Campus, 907-442-3400, ext. 221

Sveta Stuefer
Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
463 Duckering Building

Dave Valentine
Professor of Forest Soils
309 O'Neill Bldg, 907-474-7614


URSA Review Board

The URSA Review Board consists of faculty from all across UAF. All faculty members are eligible to participate. Each student application is reviewed by four faculty members. Current members may participate in one or all of the review sessions each academic year. If you are interested in participating, please contact the URSA office.

The members for 2019-2020 include:

Ana Aguilar-Islas
Jungho Baek
Bahareh Barati
Nathan Belz
Andrea Bersamin
Cam Carlson
Rich Carr
Cheng-Fu Chen
Ross Cohen
Wendy Croskrey
Marina Cuzovic-Severn
Margaret Darrow
Jan Dawe
David Denkenberger

Elaine Drew
Devin Drown
Daryl Farmer
Greg Finstad
Alex Fitts
Javier Fochesatto
Jennifer Guerard
Brian Hemphill
Falk Huettmann
Sun Woo Kim
Ilana Kingsley
Cecile Lardon
Ellen Lopez
Dan Mann

Charles Mason
Ryan Oliver
Anshul Pandaya
Jen Peterson
Terry Reilly
Joshua Reuther
Andy Seitz
Jeremy Speight
Sveta Stuefer
Renate Wackerbauer
Peter Webley
Peter Westley
Sveta Yamin-Pastenak