sidebar menu toggle button Board of directors

In everything we do, we strive to connect and support UAF and its alumni. We encourage excellence in all aspects of the university and provide opportunities for alumni to engage in lifelong involvement with their university community. We could not do what we do without our Board of Director’s strategic guidance and support, and we hold ourselves accountable to you and them. This distinguished group of alum leaders invest their time, passion, and resources to support UAFAA, and for that we are thankful.

Interested in running for a seat on the board? Here's what's involved.


2016 - 2017 UAF Alumni Association Board of Directors


Board officers

Peter Van Flein

Peter Van Flein, ’87

Board President/chair
Seat 5, FNSB
2018 - 2021
pvanflein@gmail.com

1987 - BBA, Business Administration
Independent financial advisor

Barbara Fujimoto

Barbara Fujimoto, ’13

Board Vice President
Seat 8, At-Large
2016 - 2019
barbara.fujimoto@goldbelt.com

2013 - MA Rural Development
Director of Small Business
Government Contracting Compliance,
Goldbelt Inc., Juneau

Libby Eddy

Libby Eddy, ’92

Board Secretary
Seat 10, Outside (Lower 48)
2016 - 2019
ofeddy@alaska.edu

1992 - Associate of Arts
Retired/Former Registrar and Director of Admissions, UAF

Amanda Wall

Amanda Wall, ’01 ’05

Board Treasurer
Seat 6, At Large
2018 - 2021
aiwall@alaska.edu

2001 - BA Journalism
2005 - MA Professional Communications
Director, Office of the Bursar, UAF


Board members

Shannon Johnson-Nanalook

Shannon Johnson-Nanalook, ’11

Seat 1, Rural
2017-2020
sejohnson24@yahoo.com

2011 - BA Social Work
Program Coordinator, Nilavena Subregional Clinic, Iliamna

Mary Beth Loewen

Mary Beth Loewen, ’02, ’07

Seat 2, Southcentral
2017 - 2020
marybethloewen@gmail.com

2002 - BS, Natural Sciences
2007 - MA, Fisheries
Fisheries biologist, Alaska Department of Fish and Game

Forrest Kuiper

Forrest Kuiper, ’99, ’00, ’12

Seat 3, Fairbanks
2017 - 2020
forrest.kuiper@alaska.edu

1999 - AAS, Municipal Fire Control
2000 - AAS, Hazardous Material Control
2012 - BEM, Emergency Management
Fire Captain, UAF Fire Department

Shannon McCarthy

Shannon McCarthy, ’88

Seat 4, Southcentral
2015 - 2018
shannonmccarthy49@gmail.com

1988 - BA, Political Science
Public Information Officer, State of Alaska Central Region of the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities

Tom Brice

Tom Brice, ’90

Seat 7, Southeast
2018 - 2021
brice2@acsalaska.net

1990 - BA, Political Science

Cindy Wright

Cindy Wright, ’88

Seat 9,& Fairbanks
2016 - 2019
cindy@playwrightalaska.com

1988 - Bachelor's in Education

Rachel Lauesen

Rachel Lauesen, ’04

Seat 11, Municipality of Anchorage
2017 - 2019
rblaloha@gmail.com

2004 - BA, History
Attorney, Crowson Law Group, Anchorage

 

Ex-Officio Board members

Jason Gootee

Jason Gootee, ’05

Portland Alumni Contact
Past President
jason.gootee@modahealth.com

2005 - BA, English

Shannon McCarthy

Shannon McCarthy, ’88

Southcentral Chapter President
2015 - 2018
shannonmccarthy49@gmail.com

1988 - BA, Political Science

Brenda Riley

Brenda Riley, ’02

Fairbanks Chapter President
brendariley81@gmail.com

2002 - BA Anthropology
Director, Fairbanks Children's Museum

Doug Schrage

Doug Schrage ’85

Student Firefighter Chapter President
drschrage@alaska.edu

1985 - Fire Science

Scott Roselius

Scott Roselius, ’81

Hockey Chapter President
scott@tvtv.com

1981 - BA, Physical Education

Jeremy Vermilyea

Jeremy Vermilyea , ’92

Seattle Alumni Contact
jeremy@vermilyealaw.com

1992 - BA, Journalism