About us

Organized in January 1988, the Senate consists of 39-42 faculty members elected proportionally from the faculty of each college and school. In addition to monthly plenary meetings, the standing and permanent committees meet regularly to carry out the majority of the work. The president, president-elect and committee chairs constitute an Administrative Committee which sets the full Senate agenda and coordinates the various activities of the Senate.

In addition, the Faculty Senate serves as a major part of UAF's institutional memory and provides information on programs, policies, procedures, formats and responsible individuals for accomplishing the academic tasks of the institution. 

Faculty Alliance (UA System)

UAF members:

Jak Maier

Sandra Wildfeuer

Syndonia Bret-Harte


Faculty Senate Officers

Jak Maier, President
Developmental Education
Sandra Wildfeuer, President-Elect
Development Education
Donie Bret-Harte, Past President
Biology & Wildlife

Faculty Senate Office

Meryem Udden, Faculty Senate Coordinator