Representatives

Contact information for 2020 Staff Council Representatives is listed below. Feel free to contact any Staff Council member, regardless of unit, if you have questions or need assistance with a staff related matter.

Vacant Unit Representative seats may be filled through mid-term appointments. Please contact the Staff Council Office for more information. You can reach the Staff Council Office at 907-474-7964 or uaf-staff-council@alaska.edu. To see all of the departments and find out which unit you belong to, check out this website: https://lynx.admin.uaf.edu/sc_finder/orgfinder.php

Staff Council Officers

Mathew Mund, President
Operations Manager, Residence Life
907-474-5321
mmund@alaska.edu

Carrie Santoro, Vice President
Fiscal Officer, Interior Alaska Campus - Fairbanks
907-474-6080
clsantoro@alaska.edu

UNIT REPRESENTATIVES

Unit 1 - CRCD - Rural Campuses

(1 seat)
Seat #1
Vacant

Unit 2 - CRCD, CTC, eCampus

(2 seats)

Martha Westphal, Program Manager
Academic/General Recreation Programs
907-455-2869
mmwestphal@alaska.edu

Stacey Cortez, Administrative Assistant
Allied Health, Community and Technical College
907-455-2823, sccortez@alaska.edu

 

Unit 3 - SNRE, CEM, SOM

(3 seats)

Alda Norris, Evaluation Specialist
CES Central Support
907-474-7120
amnorris2@alaska.edu

Ryan Smith, Director of Advising
College of Engineering and Mines
907-474-7391
rosmith@alaska.edu

Juella Sparks, Director, Outreach and Communications
School of Natural Resources and Extension
907-474-7115

Unit 4 - IAB

(2 seats)

Anita Goetz, Assistant to the Director
Alaska INBRE Administration
907-474-7649
algoetz01@alaska.edu

KC Love, HR Coordinator
Institute of Arctic Biology
907-474-6676, kclove@alaska.edu

Unit 5 - GI

(4 seats)

David Hill, Special Projects PFRR
GI Poker Flat Research Range
907-455-2104
dwhill@alaska.edu

Valerie Rickards, Assistant to the Director
GI Director's Office
907-474-7282
valerie.rickards@alaska.edu

Fritz Freudenberger, Public Relations Specialist
Geophysical Institute
907-474-7185
ffreudenberger@alaska.edu

Seat #4
Vacant

Unit 6 - CFOS

(2 seats)

*Chris Brooks, IT Administrator
CFOS Dean Managed Activities
907-796-5442
cabrooks5@alaska.edu

Seat #2
Vacant

Unit 7 - Student Affairs

(4 seats)
Ronnie Houchin, ASUAF Advisor and Office Manager
Center for Student Engagement
907-474-5153
rshouchin@alaska.edu
 

Laura Warner, Admissions Coordinator
Office of Admissions
907-474-6226
lsmith115@alaska.edu

*Quineshia Peterson, Admissions Counselor
Office of Admissions
907-474-5129
qdpeterson@alaska.edu
 
Bri Dryver, HR Coordinator
Student Affairs
907-474-6496, bwdryver@alaska.edu

Unit 8 - CLA

(1 seat)
Courtney Pagh, Administrative Assistant
Communication and Journalism (COJO)

Unit 9 - Chancellor's Unit

(2 seats)

Christina Johnson, Student Services Manager
Honors Program
907-474-6612
crjohnson2@alaska.edu

Karina Gonzales-Smith, Faculty Services Coordinator
eCampus
907-455 2064
ksgonzales@alaska.edu

Unit 10 - CNSM, Museum

(1 seat)
Kyle Campbell, STEM Coordinator/Advisor 
BLaST Program (CNSM) and Student Support Services (DGS)
907 474 2446, kkcampbell@alaska.edu

Unit 11 - Facilities Services

(2 seats)
Kara Axx, Construction Contracting Officer
Division of Design and Construction
907-474-2648
 

Dean Ojala, Jr., Maintenance Supervisor
Utilities
907-474-5697
dcojala@alaska.edu

Unit 12 - Admin. Services

(2 seats)
*Derek Bastille, Database/On-Base Administrator
Office of Management & Budget
907-474-5167
dlbastille@alaska.edu
 

Michael Szidloski

Unit 13 - Rasmuson Library

(1 seat)
 
 Seat #1
Vacant

Unit 14 - IARC

(1 seat)

Amber Keith-Smith, Executive Assistant
IARC
907-474-6016
alkeith@alaska.edu

Unit 15 - OIT

(2 seats)
Jeff Whiteside, Senior Network Communications Specialist
OIT Network Operations
907-450-8164
jcwhiteside@alaska.edu

Seat #2
Vacant

At Large Representatives

Seat #1

Austyn Tanner, HR and Event Coordinator, Interim Executive Assistant to the CITO
Office of Information Technology
907-474-1994
adtanner@alaska.edu 

Seat #2 

Felicia Burud, Coordinator
Graduate School
907-474-7464
fjburud@alaska.edu

Seat #3

Artem Zhdanov, Learning Space Engineer
OIT Customer Support Services
907-474-2727
avzhdanov@alaska.edu

Seat #4

Tara Borland

Seat #5

Shannon Watson, Fiscal Manager
EPSCoR
(907) 474-7719, slwatson@alaska.edu

Special At-large seat

Elected Representatives who change units in the middle of their term, may choose to move to a Special At-Large seat. Their term as a Special At-Large Representative runs through the end of  their original term.

*Committee Chair

Per Staff Council Bylaws: At-Large Representatives shall be numbered 1, 2, 3, 4, & 5. At-Large Representatives filling positions 1, 3, & 5 shall be elected in even-numbered years and begin their term in odd-numbered years.; At-Large Representatives filling positions 2 & 4 shall be elected in odd-numbered years and begin their term in an even-numbered year.

*Committee Chair

UNIT REPRESENTATIVES

Unit 1 - CRCD - Rural Campuses
(1 seat)

Seat #1
Vacant

Unit 2 - CRCD, CTC, eLearning
(2 seats)

Martha Westphal, Program Manager
Academic/General Recreation Programs
907-455-2869
mmwestphal@alaska.edu

Chris Miles, English Support Tutor
Interior Alaska Campus
907-474-2709
clmiles@alaska.edu

Unit 3 - SNRAS, CEM, INE, SOM
(3 seats)

Alda Norris, Evaluation Specialist
CES Central Support
907-474-7120
amnorris2@alaska.edu

Ryan Smith, Director of Advising
College of Engineering and Mines
907-474-7391
rosmith@alaska.edu

Juella Sparks, Director, Outreach and Communications
School of Natural Resources and Extension
907-474-7115
juella.sparks@alaska.edu

Unit 4 - IAB
(2 seats)

Anita Goetz, Assistant to the Director
Alaska INBRE Administration
907-474-7649
algoetz01@alaska.edu

Seat #2
Vacant

Unit 5 - GI
(4 seats)

David Hill, Special Projects PFRR
GI Poker Flat Research Range
907-455-2104
dwhill@alaska.edu

Valerie Rickards, Assistant to the Director
GI Director's Office
907-474-7282
valerie.rickards@alaska.edu

Fritz Freudenberger, Public Relations Specialist
Geophysical Institute
907-474-7185
ffreudenberger@alaska.edu

Seat #4
Vacant

Unit 6 - CFOS
(2 seats)

*Chris Brooks, IT Administrator
CFOS Dean Managed Activities
907-796-5442
cabrooks5@alaska.edu

Wendy Huesties, Financial Manager
CFOS Dean
907-474-6908
wshuesties@alaska.edu

Unit 7 - Student Affairs
(4 seats)

Ronnie Houchin, ASUAF Advisor and Office Manager
Center for Student Engagement
907-474-5153
rshouchin@alaska.edu
 

Laura Warner, Admissions Coordinator
Office of Admissions
907-474-6226
lsmith115@alaska.edu

*Quineshia Peterson, Admissions Counselor
Office of Admissions
907-474-5129
qdpeterson@alaska.edu
 
Seat #4
Vacant

Unit 8 - CLA
(1 seat)

Katelin Avery, Public Information Officer and Enrollment Manager
College of Liberal Arts
907-474-6464

Unit 9 - Chancellor's Unit
(2 seats)

Christina Johnson, Student Services Manager
Honors Program
907-474-6612
crjohnson2@alaska.edu

Karina Gonzales-Smith, Faculty Services Coordinator
eCampus
907-455 2064
ksgonzales@alaska.edu

Unit 10 - CNSM, Museum
(1 seats)

Seat #1
Vacant

Unit 11 - Facilities Services
(2 seats)

Unit 12 - Admin. Services
(2 seats)

*Derek Bastille, Database/On-Base Administrator
Office of Management & Budget
907-474-5167
dlbastille@alaska.edu
 
Seat #2
Vacant

Unit 13 - Rasmuson Library
(1 seat)

*Becky Butler, Assistant Archivist
Alaska & Polar Regions Collections and Archives
907-474-2791
rlbutler3@alaska.edu

Unit 14 - IARC
(1 seat)

Amber Keith-Smith, Executive Assistant
IARC
907-474-6016
alkeith@alaska.edu

Unit 15 - OIT
(2 seats)

Jeff Whiteside, Senior Network Communications Specialist
OIT Network Operations
907-450-8164
jcwhiteside@alaska.edu

Seat #2
Vacant
 

 AT LARGE REPRESENTATIVES

 

Seat #1

Austyn Tanner, HR and Event Coordinator, Interim Executive Assistant to the CITO
Office of Information Technology
907-474-1994
adtanner@alaska.edu 

Seat #2

Felicia Burud, Coordinator
Graduate School
907-474-7464
fjburud@alaska.edu

Seat #3

Artem Zhdanov, Learning Space Engineer
OIT Customer Support Services
907-474-2727
avzhdanov@alaska.edu

Seat #4
Vacant

 

Seat #5

Vacant

Special At-Large Seat

Vacant

Elected Representatives who change units in the middle of their term, may choose to move to a Special At-Large seat. Their term as a Special At-Large Representative runs through the end of their original term.

Per Staff Council Bylaws: At-Large Representatives shall be numbered 1, 2, 3, 4, & 5. At-Large Representatives filling positions 1, 3, & 5 shall be elected in even-numbered years and begin their term in an odd-numbered years. At-Large Representatives filling positions 2 & 4 shall be elected in odd-numbered years and begin their term in an even-numbered year.

*Committee Chair

UNIT REPRESENTATIVES

Unit 1 - CRCD - Rural Campuses
(1 seat)

Chad Oleson, Program Manager
NW Administrative Support
Northwest Campus - Nome
907-443-8404
cdoleson@alaska.edu

Theresa Quiner, Library Director
KU Consortium Library
Kuskokwim Campus - Bethel
907-543-4517
tquiner@alaska.edu

Unit 2 - CRCD, CTC, eLearning
(2 seats)

*Carrie Santoro, Fiscal Officer
IC Administrative Support
907-474-6080
clsantoro@alaska.edu

Seat #2
Vacant

Unit 3 - SNRAS, CEM, INE, SOM
(3 seats)

Alda Norris, Evaluation Specialist
CES Central Support
474-7120
amnorris2@alaska.edu

Lesli Walls, Grant Manager
Alaska Center for Energy & Power, INE
474-1930
ljwalls@alaska.edu

Seat #3
Vacant

Unit 4 - IAB
(2 seats)

Anita Goetz, Assistant to the Director
Alaska INBRE Administration
474-7649
algoetz01@alaska.edu

Seat #2
Vacant

Unit 5 - GI
(4 seats)

David Hill, Special Projects PFRR
GI Poker Flat Research Range
907-455-2104
dwhill@alaska.edu

Sue Mitchell, Public Information Manager
GI Information Office
907-474-5823
sue.mitchell@alaska.edu

Seat #3
Vacant
 
Seat #4
Vacant

Unit 6 - CFOS
(2 seats)

*Chris Brooks, IT Administrator
CFOS Dean Managed Activities
907-796-5442
cabrooks5@alaska.edu

Wendy Huesties, Financial Manager
CFOS Dean
907-474-6908
wshuesties@alaska.edu

Unit 7 - Student Affairs
(4 seats)

Abigail Arnold, Donor Services Coordinator
KUAC FM Radio Operations
907-474-7491
abigail.kuac@alaska.edu

*Quineshia Peterson, Assignments & Records Coordinator
Department of Residence Life
907-474-7247
qdpeterson@alaska.edu

Seat #3
Vacant
 
Seat #4
Vacant

Unit 8 - CLA
(1 seat)

Kathleen Nava, Comprehensive Advisor
College of Liberal Arts
907-474-6542
ksnava@alaska.edu

Unit 9 - Chancellor's Unit
(2 seats)

Susie Frei, Financial Manager
Alaska EPSCoR
907-474-7719
ssfrei@alaska.edu

John Smelter, Degree Completion Advisor
Academic Advising Center
907-474-6396
jpsmelter@alaska.edu

Unit 10 - CNSM, Museum
(1 seats)

*Brianna Pauling, Program Coordinator
Department of Veterinary Medicine
907-474-1928
b.pauling@alaska.edu

Unit 11 - Facilities Services
(2 seats)

Jenny Campbell, Director
Division of Design & Construction
907-474-5598
jlcampbell@alaska.edu

Dean Ojala, Maintenance Supervisor
Utilities
907-474-5697
dcojala@alaska.edu

Unit 12 - Admin. Services
(2 seats)

*Jessica Allard, Administrative Assistant
Office of Human Resources
474-7700
jlallard@alaska.edu

*Derek Bastille, Database/On-Base Administrator
Office of Management & Budget
907-474-5167
dlbastille@alaska.edu

Unit 13 - Rasmuson Library
(1 seat)

Becky Butler, ;Assistant Archivist
Alaska & Polar Regions Collections and Archives
907-474-2791
rlbutler3@alaska.edu

Unit 14 - IARC
(1 seat)

Seat #1
Vacant

Unit 15 - OIT
(2 seats)

Jenell Merrifield, Travel and Contract Coordinator
Office of Information Technology
907-450-8382
jlmerrifield@alaska.edu

*Caleb Severn, Systems Engineer
Office of Information Technology
907-450-8333
cjsevern@alaska.edu

 

AT LARGE REPRESENTATIVES

Seat #1

Jeff Whiteside, Senior Network Communications Specialist
OIT Network Operations
907-450-8164
jcwhiteside@alaska.edu

Seat #2

Felicia Burud, Coordinator
Graduate School
907-474-7464
fjburud@alaska.edu

Seat #3

Ellarae Miner, Academic Advisor
Student Support Services
907-474-5166
eminer2@alaska.edu

Seat #4

*Denise Caissie, ProCard Administrator
Procurement & Contract Services
907-474-7374
dlcaissie@alaska.edu

Seat #5

Karina Gonzales-Smith, Faculty Services Coordinator
eLearning & Distance Education
907-455-2064
ksgonzales@alaska.edu

Special At-Large Seat

Vacant

Elected Representatives who change units in the middle of their term, may choose to move to a Special At-Large seat. Their term as a Special At-Large Representative runs through the end of their original term.

Per Staff Council Bylaws: At-Large Representatives shall be numbered 1, 2, 3, 4, & 5. At-Large Representatives filling positions 1, 3, & 5 shall be elected in even-numbered years and begin their term in an odd-numbered years. At-Large Representatives filling positions 2 & 4 shall be elected in odd-numbered years and begin their term in an even-numbered year.

Unit 1 - CRCD - Rural Campuses
(2 seats)

Chad Oleson
Northwest Campus - Nome
907-443-8404
cdoleson@alaska.edu

Theresa Quiner
Kuskokwim Campus - Bethel
tquiner@alaska.edu

Unit 2 - CRCD, CTC, eLearning
(3 seats)

Brianna Pauling
907-474-7871
bpaulin1@alaska.edu

Carrie Santoro
907-474-6080
clsantoro@alaska.edu

Seat #3
Vacant

Unit 3 - SNRAS, CEM, INE, SOM
(3 seats)

Joseph Alloway
907-474-7330
jaalloway@alaska.edu

Alda Norris
907-474-7120
amnorris2@alaska.edu

Lesli Walls
907-474-1930
ljwalls@alaska.edu

Unit 4 - IAB
(2 seats)

Seat #1
Vacant
 
Seat #2
Vacant

Unit 5 - GI
(4 seats)

David Hill
dwhill@alaska.edu

Vanessa Raymond
vlraymond@alaska.edu

Seat #3
Vacant
 
Seat #4
Vacant

Unit 6 - CFOS
(2 seats)

Chris Brooks
907-796-5442
cabrooks5@alaska.edu

Wendy Rupe
907-474-6908
wsrupe@alaska.edu

Unit 7 - University and Student Advancement
(4 seats)

Mathew Mund
907-474-5321
mmund@alaska.edu

Quineshia Peterson
qdpeterson@alaska.edu

Chynna Sandgren
907-474-6225
cmsandgren@alaska.edu

Seat #3
Vacant
 
Seat #4
Vacant

Unit 8 - CLA
(1 seat)

Kathy Nava
907-474-6542
ksnava@alaska.edu

Unit 9 - Chancellor's Unit
(2 seats)

Susie Frei
907-474-7719
ssfrei@alaska.edu

John Smelter
907-474-1849
jpsmelter@alaska.edu

Unit 10 - CNSM
(2 seats)

Jessica Armstrong
907-474-7755
jessica.armstrong@alaska.edu

Seat #2
Vacant

Unit 11 - Facilities Services
(2 seats)

Dean Ojala
907-474-5697
dcojala@alaska.edu

Jenny Campbell
907-474-5598
jlcampbell@alaska.edu

Unit 12 - VC Admin. Services
(3 seats)

Jessica Allard
907-474-7700
jlallard@alaska.edu

Kimberly Knudsen
907-474-5476
klamb1@alaska.edu

Seat #3
Vacant

Unit 13 - Rasmuson Library
(1 seat)

Alexander Chisum
907-474-6069
ajchisum@alaska.edu

Unit 14 - IARC
(1 seat)

Seat #1
Vacant

Unit 15 - OIT
(2 seats)

Jenell Merrifield
907-450-8382
jlmerrifield@alaska.edu

Caleb Severn
cjsevern@alaska.edu

 

AT LARGE REPRESENTATIVES

Term: 1/1/2017 - 12/31/2018
Next Election for Seats #3 & 5: Fall 2018
Next Election for Seats #1: Fall 2017 (1 year term)

Term 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2017
Next Election for Seats #2 & 4: Fall 2017

 
Seat #1
Vacant
(To be filled during Fall 2017 Election)

Seat #2
Amanda Wall

907-474-7384
aiwall@alaska.edu

 
Seat #3
Ellarae Miner
907-474-5948
eminer2@alaska.edu
Seat #4
Melissa Campbell
907-474-7213
mrparks@alaska.edu
 

Seat #5
Karina Gonzales-Smith
907-455-2064
ksgonzales@alaska.edu

 Special At-Large Seat

Vacant

Elected Unit Representatives who vacate their seat due to a unit change, in the middle of their term, may choose to move to a Special At-Large Representative. Their term as a Special At-Large Representative runs through the end of their original term.

 
Per Staff Council Bylaws: At-Large Representatives shall be numbered 1, 2, 3, 4, & 5. At-Large Representatives filling positions 1, 3, & 5 shall be elected in even-numbered years and begin their term in an odd-numbered years. At-Large Representatives filling positions 2 & 4 shall be elected in odd-numbered years and begin their term in an even-numbered year.